Hydrocephalus Association Scholarships

Hydrocephalus Association Scholarships

Deadline: April  10

The Association is pleased to offer scholarships to young adults with hydrocephalus :

 The Gerard Swartz Fudge Scholarship was created in 1993. Gerard, who died on November 25, 1992, at the age of 22, is the son of two of the founders of the Hydrocephalus Association, Russell and Emily Fudge.

 The Morris L. Ziskind Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002, in memory of Morris L. Ziskind, by his wife, Rebecca, and the Ziskind family. Morris was diagnosed with normal pressure hydrocephalus when he was in his 80s.

 The Anthony Abbene Scholarship Fund was established in 2003. The scholarship was created by the Fonte and Abbene families in honor of Anthony, who has hydrocephalus.

Justin Scot Alston Memorial Scholarship:
Gloria M. Alston established this scholarship in loving memory of her son, Justin Scot Alston, who died in 2004. Justin received a Hydrocephalus Association scholarship in 2002 and will be remembered for his tremendous upbeat attitude and for all that he accomplished during his short life.

Mario J. Tocco Hydrocephalus Foundation Scholarship:
Greg and Georgana Tocco and their families established this scholarship in 2007 in loving memory of Greg’s grandfather, Mario, and in honor of the Hydrocephalus Foundation, Inc of  Saugus, MA.


  • Applicants must be between 17 and 30 years old and have hydrocephalus.  
  • Scholarship funds must be used for an educational purpose: a four-year or junior college, a high school post-graduate year to prepare for college, technical or trade school, an accredited employment-training program or a post-graduate program.
  • The scholarship funds may be used for tuition, books, housing or an expense directly related to the education experience.

Click here for more information.

(last checked 1/24/17)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.