American Academy of Religion Journalism Award

American Academy of Religion Journalism Award

Deadline: February 28

Annually the AAR honors the best in-depth reporting on religion. The contest is open to all print and Web-based journalists at media outlets of any size. The first-place winner receives $1,000; second-place, $500; and third-place, $250. The deadline for submission is February 28. Contest winners are usually announced in June.


  • News articles, columns, editorials, and other opinion writing in print media of any size or in Web-based media.
  • Three to five articles published during the previous calendar year, January 1 through December 31. Not less than three articles and not more than five may be submitted per entry.
  • Any topic related to religion.
  • Writing should include a historical, explanatory, or contextual approach to the subject matter, using research or perspectives of scholars.
  • Writing for general audiences preferred.
  • Writing on a diversity of topics (across traditions or within a single tradition) preferred.
  • You should be the sole author, except that one of the articles may have multiple bylines or credits, provided that you identify the article and state that you did most of the writing.
  • Non-English language articles, including those published outside North America, acceptable if translated into English. Copies of original articles must be included with submission.
  • Sidebars acceptable as part of an article or may be entered as a separate article.
  • Articles from a series acceptable, though other eligibility items should be considered: not less than three and not more than five articles per entry, and writing on a diversity of topics preferred.

Entry fee: (USD) $25 per entry.

Judges: Current and former journalists, plus a representative from the AAR’s Committee on the Public Understanding of Religion, which oversees the contest.

Click here for more information.

(updated 1.11.17)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.